All That Jazz

jazz_meditations

Today marks day one of the Top Five Reasons why you ought to tune in daily to the Green Eagle Blog.

Reason #5: 99 Other Super Cool Students

I spent last Thursday and Friday meeting some of the students selected for the Green Eagles.  I really enjoyed getting to know everyone and learning where they came from, what they are majoring in and what they like to do for fun.  I met John Northey who is a Freshman Music major who plays Jazz trumpet.  I really liked talking with John because he hails from Washington, which is where I lived for 3 years before I moved here.

I also got the chance to meet Brittney Johnson, a transfer student.  Brittney is also musically inclined and loves to sing.  It is my goal to get Britteny and John together for an open mic night so she can sing while he plays trumpet.

I also heard what some of you think are the best and most challenging things about being at UNT.  The best thing about being at UNT, so far, seems to be meeting friendly people.  Your challenges seem to be things such as time management, increased work load and the long  walk between classes.

So what can we learn about the other 98 of you? What is your talent? Tell us in the comment section and get in the drawing for this week’s prize-given out here on our blog each Friday.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 14, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    well lets see, i have a lot of talents i guess, i can play the clarinet, flute, and piano and i play volleyball and soccer. Always up for games.

    Reply

  2. Posted by greeneagles on September 14, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Congrats Stephanie on being the first to post. Lots of musical talent among us…I used to play cello a long time ago, so I will not be performing (lol) but I do enjoy a friendly game of volleyball 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark McCall on September 14, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I play piano and plan on minoring in piano performance. I would say im talented in crunching numbers.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 14, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    The only musical talent I am lucky enough to posses is enjoying music! 🙂 I like creating things, swimming, and taking care of people… I’m pretty good at Tetris, too 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jamie Salinas on September 15, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    I was in Choir for about two years until I had to choose between that or band. I chose band I played French Horn for about five years and won two state marching contests before I decided I hated it all together. All of my friends were outside of band and I realized it was less negative than being on the inside so I quit. I was in theatre for about three years technical for two and art for one year; both of which I love. I’m from Texas lived here my whole life I’m undecided but I know I want to travel to as many places as I can.

    p.s. sorry about the long comment

    Reply

  6. Posted by Travers Swan on September 15, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I’m a freshman from Austin, TX. I’m good a crafts, just little projects I start. And I’m a pretty good chef, mainly burgers or fried foods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

