Bang for Your Buck

Today marks day three of the Top Five Reasons why you ought to tune in daily to the Green Eagle Blog.

Reason #3: Would you pay for a gym membership and never go

work out

Last year I bought a gym membership because I wanted to lose a few pounds and get in shape.  I went to the gym a few times but then I stopped going.  A few months into my gym membership I was upset because I had not lost one pound.  I was paying for something that I was not using and then I wondered why I wasn’t getting the results I expected.

College is like that gym membership.  You decide to go to college because you want a college degree and you invest the money to do so.  Many of us expect to get good grades, have fun and get a degree but how can we get what we expect if we don’t put the work in.

In order to get the results you desire from college is to attend class, study and get involved.  Every month that I did not go to the gym I was losing $29.99.  Each class that you miss has a dollar amount attached to it, for every class you miss it is like paying $57 and not getting anything for it.

From your classes to the programs on campus to the resources available, you are paying for the college experience.  Get your money’s worth, go to the Learning Center to learn how to study more effectively, attend the event being hosted on campus and most of all, go to class.  Just by doing these things you are not only getting your moneys worth, but you will help achieve your desired results.

What are your desired results?  Is there a certain GPA goal you have, do you want to get involved on campus?  Tell us in the comment section and you will be entered into our weekly drawing happening this Friday.


8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 16, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I want to get involved on campus i don’t know with what yet it’s all so overwhelming sometimes, i think i am going to try the rec. sports thou, i want to pass my classes with a B or higher during my years so far i have been doing okay with that part even though i do have some C’s which i don’t like but the class is over so i really can’t change that but i can do better in the classes i do have this fall.

    Reply

    • Posted by Diana on September 16, 2009 at 9:16 pm

      Hi Stephanie!

      You had the first comment of the day!

      If you aren’t happy with those C’s you do have the option of course duplication here at UNT. The Registrar’s Office (http://essc.unt.edu/registrar/academic-record.html) will have all the information on the necessary form and procedure but feel free to post for more information on that here as well.

      UNT’s Rec Sports has a robust center that hosts lots of great events. Check our their site for a listing of sport clubs that already exist:
      http://www.unt.edu/recsports/sportclubs/clubs.html

      I hope this is helpful Stephanie. Keep those questions and comments coming! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Claudia on September 16, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Stephanie,

    Good for you for wanting to get involved on campus AND for being smart enough to know you need balance. There are all kinds of organizations on campus you can get involved in – some requiring more time than others.

    Being a general member of an organization is a good way to start because you can control how much you volunteer to be on committees, etc… Serving as an officer for an organization is a little more of a time commitment, because officers typically meet weekly.

    Academic clubs and organizations (History Club, Accounting Club, etc…. ) can be a good place to start, because they are both social, as well as providing academic support.

    To see all the opportunities available to you, check out orgs.unt.edu. It will show an exhaustive list of opportunities. If the rec center is the thing for you, there is lots to choose from. You can join an intramural team or you could join a sports club. Either way, go to unt.edu/recsports.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 16, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I want to get all A’s and B’s in my classes and find somewhere to get involved on campus doing volunteer work. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Diana on September 16, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Hi Rachel!

      The best way to ensure great grades is always to attend class, do all your reading, and never be shy about taking an active role in your classroom. To get yourself started you are definitely in the right place here at the Green Eagles blog. We’ll be posting weekly tips and even hosting some fun study related events!

      It is great to hear that you want to get involved as a VolUNTeer here at UNT as there are plenty of opportunities.

      You might first check into the Center for Leadership and Service:
      http://www.unt.edu/volunteer/

      And on the Student Organization Page there is a section of service oriented student groups:
      http://secureapp.netclubmgr.com/ICS/CM/V2/Student/Index.aspx?uid=unnotx#section235

      All of this may even lead you to College of Public Affairs and Community Service:
      http://web3.unt.edu/scs/PACS/

      I hope this is a helpful start Rachel. Keep those questions and comments coming! 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by Jamie on September 16, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    I want to do better here than I did in high school. I was actually smart just never really applied it and I hope that by then end of college I’m satisfied with the work I put in that I never second guess whether or not I could have done better. I also want to get involved on campus I just don’t know where I would fit in or how.

    Reply

    • Posted by Diana on September 16, 2009 at 9:24 pm

      Hello Jaime,

      I’m glad to see you’ve been able to self identify a change you want to make and share it here on the Green Eagle blog. Kudos and Thanks!

      As with the previous posts keep a sharp eye out here at the blog for classroom tips and be an active part of all your classes. Reach out to fellow students and your professors.

      Jaime, one key way to help ensure your success here at UNT is to involve yourself in the community that exists all around you. There are many ways to figure out where you want to be here.
      What are you interested in? Do you have any hobbies? Is there something you look back on in high school that you wished you’d gotten involved in?

      I hope this is a helpful start. You keep sharing and we’ll keep posting!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Sarah Williams on September 17, 2009 at 2:11 am

    Well although it’s not my first year at UNT, it is my last and I want to go out with a bang!! So I’m shooting for a 4.0 this semester!! Only taken 1 test, but so far so good! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

