CSI and You: Involvement at UNT

Today is Day 2 of our introduction into getting involved at UNT.  Yesterday we talked about all the ways you can get involved at the REC center.  Today we are going to hit a little closer to home, or should I say…class.  I am going to give you a glimpse into the academic and professional student organizations you could be involved with.

CSI

Academic groups are a place where you can meet other students who are interested in the same academic topic.  Some join because it is associated with their major, others join because they have a passion for the subject.  You do not have to be a chemistry or criminal justice major to join the Forensic Science Club.  Maybe you want to major in Marketing, but you are addicted to CSI and want to learn about forensics just for fun…well you can.  The group told me that they meet once a month and often bring in guest speakers and take tours of local crime labs.

The Mona Lisa, Avant-Garde, Picasso…if you have an eye for art (or like me, would like to develop one) then you could check out the Art History Society.  You do not have to be an art major, you just need to have an interest in it.  The Art History Society meets every other week and host art lectures and museum trips throughout the year.

So I just told you about 2 of the many academic clubs at UNT.  Next I am going to share with you some information about the professional organizations, which are focused on a shared major or professional goal.

Are you a business major?  Then you might be interested in Phi Chi Theta, which is a co-ed professional business and economics fraternity.  Joining a professional student group is a great way to make connections in your field of study (and possibly a post-graduate J-O-B) and to meet other students that share your major and maybe a few classes.  Phi Chi Theta requires all potential members to be a business related major, have a 2.8 gpa and to be able to attend bi-weekly meetings.

If you want to get involved then an academic or professional student group might be for you.  I highly encourage you to check out any group you are interested in joining and ask them:

-are there membership requirements? If so, what are they?

-what time commitments are there if I join?

click here for more UNT student groups

Since we are talking about getting involved this week, tell us in the comment section what you were involved with in high school and you could win in this week’s Friday drawing!

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dan Lyche on September 22, 2009 at 9:29 am

    In high school i was involved in alot of religious stuff. i was and officer of FCA (Fellowship of Christan Athletes) and i also staffed loads of retreats with my church

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 22, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I was involved with the swim team and worked my way up into producer and editor for the video announcements and broadcast program for my school. I was also secretary for NTHS one year and president for a big club. Lots of fun, but very tiring…

    Reply

    • Posted by Tosin on September 22, 2009 at 11:59 am

      I definitely agree. When you get to involved sometimes it can become very tiring especially since your main focus is school and to graduate. I was suggest taking it slow and then gradually join more organizations once you get use to the hang of college life.

      Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 1:11 pm

      Rachel-
      your goodies were dropped off at your hall desk 🙂 Sounds like you were busy in high school. Have you thought about getting involved in any activities/groups here? I agree that while being involved is fun…it is tiring. That is why I suggest picking 1 area of interest and doing something in that area. People burn themselves out because they join every organization that seems interesting to them. My 1st year in college I joined hall government. It was a 1 night a week commitment, lots of fun and I only had to walk down the stairs to our meetings 🙂

      Reply

  3. Posted by Mark McCall on September 22, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I was more of a UIL person myself. I was on the science, mathematics, and number sense team. Our science team made it to state my junior year. I helped carry both the number sense team and mathematics team to regionals my senior year, as well as advancing to regionals individually. After regionals, our number sense team went to state, and i went to state not only with them, but i also went to stae individually for mathematics. Unfortunately, we didnt do our best at state, but I definately had a lot of fun in participating in UIL

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      mark- you have some goodies at your hall desk too…
      Sounds like a fun experience. and it sounds like you are talented in math. There are lots of ways you can use that talent here. There is a Math Club (for fun recreational math) and we have an awesome math lab (where you could possibly get paid to help others with math). Are you majoring in math?

      Reply

  4. Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on September 22, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Although I was not in the Forensic Science Club, I received a Certificate in Criminalistics during my undergrad career at UNT. If you have an interest in the study of physical crime scene evidence, I encourage you to look into the program – you will learn about the infinite ways CSI is wrong and all the mistakes they make on the show! (#1 being that the show doesn’t come with a “scratch and sniff” sticker, according to the Program Coordinator Professor Ed Hueske! LOL) It is really cool and interesting stuff!

    I also recommend the National Society of Collegiate Scholars – a national honors organization with a chapter here at UNT. They emphasize Leadership, Scholarship, Service, and Integrity. First year students with a 3.4 GPA in the top 10% of their class are invited to join. A link to the national website is below. I can answer any questions you may have about it! 🙂

    http://www.nscs.org

    -Lindsey

    Reply

  5. Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Calling Rachel, Stephanie and Mark…

    You have been my most loyal readers, and I want to reward you….with a challenge….whomever can bring the most people to the blog (and put your name somewhere in their post) from 9/26-10/1 will win something cool for you and a few friends….do you accept?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Brandy Prado on September 22, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I was involved in the environmental club, a spirit group, student council, and I was the captain of our dance team. It was a lot of work but it overall completed my whole high school experience.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      Welcome Brandy! I am glad you are here. UNT has clubs and groups geared towards all the things you were involved with in high school (we have several dance groups and your residence hall has a hall government) If you have questions about any group let us know and we can tell you how to find out more or get involved.

      Thanks for joining us Brandy!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 22, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    in high school i was in volleyball club, Marching Band, Blue Devil Crew (we were a big spirit school group doing all different stuff), and i was a cheerleader

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 8:16 pm

      Hey Stephanie…glad to see you again. Have you thought about joining the intramural volleyball league…maybe your RA can organize a team and ask your hall government pay for it 🙂

      Reply

  8. Posted by Jamie on September 22, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Tech Theatre, National Thespian Society, Art, Band, Hope Club, AC/DEC, and TAFE

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 8:19 pm

      Hi Jamie…welcome to the blog, I am glad you shared what you have been involved in. Are you interested in joining any arts related groups at UNT? There are tons….from art to dance to theatre.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Victoria on September 22, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I was involved in my high school’s choir for all four years, show choir for two and a member of FCCLA for a year.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 22, 2009 at 11:14 pm

      welcome Victoria…i was involved in my HS choir too and loved it…did you sing soprano or alto? do you still sing? Did you enjoy your time in the FCCLA?

      Reply

      • Posted by Victoria on September 23, 2009 at 12:11 am

        I sang alto, alto 1 to be specific.I really loved being in choir, I wanted to try out here at UNT, but i heard the music program was really competitive. I still sing for fun on my own though. lol. And yes, I liked being in FCCLAl, but I wish I had been more active in it, I didnt participate as much as I could have.

  10. Posted by Travers Swan on September 23, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    I was on the Swim team in high school

    Reply

Leave a Reply

