Beans or no beans

Family. Friends. Fun.

All of this and….chili!  This weekend is Family Weekend at UNT.  It is time to invite the family, close friends and enjoy the festivities:  the 5k fun run/walk, football and did I mention, chili.

chilichilitexaschili

Family weekend is a great opportunity to get involved.  Whether you are planning on spending the weekend with family and friends or going it solo, you have the opportunity to take part in lots of fun activities.

Stephanie, I know you told us that you like to run.  Rachel is not a fan of running, but do you enjoy a good walk?  The 5k fun run/walk is a great opportunity to run/walk the campus (without having to do it to get to class) and get entered into a tuition raffle.  Yes…by simply putting your feet to use, you could win free tuition for one semester.  If interested you need to register (online or at the site) and the cost is $10 advance and $15 day of.

Peppers, beef, spices….Mmmmmm….Chili!  On Saturday there will be the 13th annual chili cook-off.  Are any of you chefs in the making?  Does your mom make the world’s best chili?  Then you should enter the chili cook-off.  I would enter my chili recipe but I am still tweaking it.  I am also unsure what the reaction would be…I put beans in my chili (I was born and raised in Ohio…we use beans).  However I am sure that Texans will like one thing about my chili…the heat…I love spice.  Maybe next year for me…will this be your year?

The culminating event of Family Weekend is the football game!  Attending the game is just one of the many ways you can get involved…and I guarantee that you will share something with the hundreds of people sitting around you, UNT pride.

For more information on Family weekend, check out:

http://familyweekend.unt.edu/

Attending campus events like Family Weekend is one way to get involved at UNT.  Are you planning on attending Family Weekend and if so, what event are you most looking forward to?  And a bonus question, beans or no beans…that is the question?  Tell us in the comment section and you could win a prize this Friday.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 23, 2009 at 7:50 am

    yes i will be attending family weekend, my parents are coming up for the football game but i was going to try and do some other things too, and the 5K fun run soons fun haha, well i will be doing that, and i think you should put beans in the chili, that’s how my old nigbor use to make it and it was a hit

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:55 am

      stephanie…thanks for the chili beans support. I hope you will check out the fun run…not only because you enjoy running, but you could win free tuition!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Victoria on September 23, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Im attending family weekend, my parents are driving up on saturday for the chilli cook off, the tail gating, and the game.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:57 am

      after the game you should take your family down to the denton square and enjoy some ice cream from Beth Marie’s and walk around the square, it is pretty at night and there are some cool stores to check out

      Reply

  3. Posted by Dan Lyche on September 23, 2009 at 11:25 am

    idk if my fam is coming or not. But when it comes to chilli it has to have beans cause my mom makes the best chilli EVER and it has beens in it.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:54 am

      I bet your mom would blush if she knew you were telling the world about her chili! Just to add to the chili debate: should you eat it with crackers or cornbread?

      Reply

  4. Posted by Travers Swan on September 23, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    I don’t think my family can make it. I’ll eat beans.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:52 am

      I hope you will still check out the events this weekend. Grab a few friends in the hall and head over to the chili cook off and then the game!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Jack (Jay) Sutey on September 23, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    My mom is flying down. Since I’m in the marching band, she is very excited about the football game and rallies on Saturday.

    I’m from Northern Virginia (about 20 minutes outside of Washington DC), and there beans vs. no beans debate isn’t such a huge deal. My mom and dad however both lived in the Southwest for a long period of time, and so I have always been raised that beans do not belong in chili.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:49 am

      I love marching band, my step-son plays bass drum. What do you play? Is this going to be the first time your mom will see you on the field for UNT in the band?

      Reply

      • Posted by Jack (Jay) Sutey on September 24, 2009 at 3:24 pm

        I play the mellophone in marching band, but the bassoon in concert. Yes, this will be my mom’s first live Green Brigade experience

    • Posted by Zayra Molina on September 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      Your mom will love visiting UNT and getting involve in family weekend! Family weekend has been one of my favorite activity for the past three years.

      BTW, I love the bassoon! Are you a music major?

      Reply

  6. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

    My parents wont be making it up here for the weekend but the fun walk does sound really good…
    And beans can be in good chilli, it adds some originality, but I’d really prefer no beans. Good luck with your recipe 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 24, 2009 at 9:51 am

      thanks rachel. I would participate in the fun run/walk but I will be screaming for my son at his flag football game. You should do it…it is supposed to be nice weather and you could win free tuition for spring! I do enjoy beans in my chili…maybe I will create a no beans version and share the recipe with you 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

