Can You Hear Me Now?

Communication is all around us.  We e-mail, text, twitter, facebook and sometimes we actually talk face to face.  So many of us use electronic forms of communication that some say we have forgotten how to get our message across without the use of a facebook status.

listening

While you are here at UNT you will take classes in various disciplines.  While you might not see the connection between art and chemistry, there is: communication.  Every class you take will allow you to fine tune your communication skills.

Most employers want someone who can communicate effectively.  I am going to share with you 5 tips to improve your communication:

Think before you speak. Saying what you mean and meaning what you say is the golden rule to communication.

Make eye contact.  This little gesture communicates that you are sincere.

Keep it simple.  We all have a family member that takes an hour to tell a story and all you can do is sit there and think, “hurry up and get to the point”.  While details are important, your point can be made without a long winded story.

Your body says more than your words at times.  If your eyes are rolling or your arms are crossed the message you are sending is I am not listening even if your words say you are.

Hearing is half of being heard.  If you are not listening to what someone is saying then they are less likely to hear you.

These are just a few tips to improve your communication.  This week we will look at different situations where you will need to put your communication skills to the test, from living with a roommate to talking to your professor.  Can you hear me now…good!

Tell us in the comment section what type of communication you use most and you will be entered into our weekly drawing (held on fridays)

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 28, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Texting and face to face interaction, if by what type you mean in which way… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jake Medina on September 28, 2009 at 10:28 am

    I either text or use Facebook, but from time to time I use Twitter

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark McCall on September 28, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Well I believe just about everyone uses face to face interaction everyday, but i also use plenty of nonverbal communication. This allows me to get my point across without saying a word. Most teenagers, suxh as myself, use texting as an alternate form of communication rather than talking to one another.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Frankie on September 28, 2009 at 10:59 am

    This is Frankie Acuna and I am posting this up for mark mccall to get some free stuff.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 28, 2009 at 11:31 am

    well i think the most communication i use is either facebook or text and also alot of face to face it’s so much easier to make ur point, because if you text or use facebook u always don’t know what the person is actually trying to say sometimes

    Reply

    • Posted by Brenda Davila on September 30, 2009 at 11:27 pm

      I completely agree, i love the convenience of instant messenger, text and facebook. but i hate not being able to tell a persons expressions to what you are saying! so my preffered for of communication is talking on the phone or in person
      🙂

      Reply

  6. Posted by Mark McCall on September 28, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    This actually has nothing to do with the topic at hand. I was curious when we would recieve the rest of our swag bags or at least when you think we should be getting them

    Reply

  7. Posted by Dan Lyche on September 28, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    i mostly use text, but facebook is a very close second.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jeff Buckner on September 28, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I use Facebook, Twitter and Text messaging a bunch to communicate with friends and family. But I’m a big cell phone guy, if your a close friend I’d much rather talk to you than communicate in any other way. I do interact in my classes face to face with my professors a bunch. I’m the guy always asking questions in class. Anyone else a big phone talker? or do you ask questions in class?

    Reply

  9. Posted by Victoria Sanchez on September 28, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I text a lot. And use facebook and myspace. It differs depending on who i want to talk to/message.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Patrick Crowley on September 28, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    I I try to aviod texting conversations- they’re only good for making quick plans or short messages. If I have to converse, I’ll call- do what a cell phone is meant to do. It feels a lot more personal and more efficient. I prepfer communicating with people face-to-face. Since most of my friends are in my dorm (Buce!), I just walk down to their room to talk and keep up the good ol’ fashioned personal interface…

    Reply

  11. Posted by Stephanie Loski on September 29, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    I use facebook to procrastinate! No one ever writes me on it, but I sure can blow a good 3 hours reading over the same stuff I’ve looked over AGAIN and AGAIN! It is a nice way to easily update a lot of people on what is going on in my life. I don’t have to send everyone that picture we took at that restaurant; I just have to tag everyone. It’s much more efficient.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

      Stephanie
      you should check out the blog next week…we will discuss procrastination. I agree- it is easy to blow a few hours on Facebook…I usually do it by playing farmville or doing crazy quizzes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

