What Happens on Facebook

Facebook is a must have for any college student.  It allows you to connect to your peers and stay connected with friends across the country.  From status updates to pictures, Facebook has become a major part of our day to day communication.

facebook

I wake up every morning and update my Facebook status.  It has become part of my daily routine.  It allows me to share the goings on in my life with people who live in other time zones.  I might not have time to call 10 of my closest friends to tell them about _____ but I can put it on Facebook and let all of them know within a minute.

While that is the upside to Facebook, the downside is just like any electronic communication…it is open to interpretation and I bet someone knows someone who knows the person you just referred to in your status.  I also am willing to bet that the person you just dissed in your status will find out from that someone who knows someone.

We all have had some good times and there are photos to prove it.  While you might not be the one to post the evidence, someone does and tags you.   What is the picture saying about you?  You have heard a picture is worth a thousand words…

What you put on Facebook communicates something about you.  You should never post your phone number or address.  Think twice before updating your status…yes, you might think your professor/boss/roommate/etc is smelly/weird/overbearing/boring/etc but even if you are not friends with them they could be that someone who is friends with someone who is your facebook friend.

What do you use Facebook for?  Tell us in the comment section and you could win in this Friday’s drawing!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff Buckner on September 29, 2009 at 9:19 am

    As I’m applying to law school, I’m reading more and more about schools, future jobs and investigators looking at people’s facebook pages. While I don’t have anything crazy posted online, there are people who do. I’m very passionate about politics as, my facebook and twitter friends will attest. Politics can and will always be the great divider in this country. So I’m actually wondering if I should take down my facebook page while I’m in the law school applying process? I’d hate for my facebook page to keep me out of the law school of my dreams. What do you guys think I should do?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jake Medina on September 29, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Traditionally, I’ve always used Facebook to find old friends and to talk to my friends that have moved a long ways away. But now that I’ve really been working on my music I’ve been using Facebook to network with other artists, recording studios, labels, and fans (as few as they are, haha). Facebook is a powerful tool that allows a person to have a larger circle of influence than he/she would have by running around in real life passing out flyers to a show. On Facebook, all it takes is a couple strokes of the keyboard and a click, and you have one “flyer” that all of your friends (and their friends, and THEIR friends, etc) can see.

    Jeff, if taking down your Facebook page for just a short term means that you can go to the school that you always wanted, then you should definitely consider it. There’s nothing wrong with being too cautious these days.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jeff Buckner on September 29, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Jake ~ Thanks for the advise. I’m starting to think the same thing. Short term inconvenience for a long term realization of one of my goals. Anybody else want to chime in?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Stephanie Williams on September 29, 2009 at 10:29 am

    well since most of my friends live in a different state facebook is a great way to stay connected with the friends back in my hometown. i also use it to find people that might be in my classes here at UNT… it’s helped me make some good new friends. i am in the college of business so alot of people that are in the same major as me are on my facebook as well, i like updating my status to tell everyone what i am up to. i love postting picture but i am careful what i post up.

    Jeff~ i would consider taking down your facebook page for a while will applying for law school because i wouldn’t want you not to get into law school because of something on your facebook page, if you do decide to keep it up though i would be cautious of what you have on there

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mark McCall on September 29, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Believe it or not, I do not have a facebook. It’s not that I’m against it, but I simply haven’t gotten one yet because everyone i knlow is on myspace.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on September 29, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I use Facebook for keeping up with my family that lives around the country and my old friends at different school. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jack (Jay) Sutey on September 29, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I use Facebook to stay in touch with my friends and to broaden the friendships i’m making here at UNT. I’m always super careful about what I post as my status though…sometime’s I’ll re-word something 3-4 different ways and then end up not posting it at all just out of paranoia haha.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on September 30, 2009 at 10:06 am

      Jack- I have done that too. In the heat of the moment I will sit down to update my facebook status and then erase it because it seems mean. I think being careful is a good thing…those status updates linger for days, even when you change your status

      Reply

  8. Posted by Brandy Prado on September 29, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Well I just created my facebook account and Im still stuck on the whole myspace thing so as of right now, I dont use it very often.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Andy Pruett on September 30, 2009 at 12:43 am

    This is Andy Pruett and I’m posting this comment for Mark McCall to win some free stuff.

    Reply

  10. Posted by traversswan on September 30, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Talk to friends, but I’m more of a texter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

