There Still is Time

Welcome to our week long series on time management.  Today we will discuss what time management is.

hourglass_redHave you ever said any of the following:

1.  I always end up cramming for an exam.

2.  I never have enough time to get my work done.

3.  I work better under pressure.

4.  I’ve tried to make schedules for myself, but I don’t stick to them.

5.  When I am working on something I get distracted by my thoughts of what else I need to do.

If you have ever thought or said one or more of the above, then you may have to consider better managing your time. There are only 24 hours in your day, just the same as everybody else’s. The good news is that there is enough time for the things you want, but only if it’s used, and used to your advantage. Time management is the managing of your time so that time is used to your advantage and it gives you a chance to spend your most valuable resource in the way you choose.

In high school you got up at the same time everyday and you went to school from 8am to 3pm. You basically had no say in where your time went. Now that you are in college your schedule is your business. If you want to have class from 1pm to 4pm or 8pm, it is your business. With this new freedom comes some decisions to make on how to effectively spend your free time. I am sure you have had to deal with a time crunch of several exams in a week or tons of papers and projects with approaching dead lines. And of course, add to that part-time jobs, being involved in a student group, going out, sleeping and whatever else you might try to cram into your day. So what are you to do? Study or have fun? These situations can be handled and all it takes is a few techniques on how to better manage your time.

This week we will discuss how to use a planner, what are your time wasters, tips to better use your time…and procrastination.  I also invite you to join us this Thursday at 323 Union for a FREE time management workshop hosted by the Learning Center.

Want to learn more about time management, click here (in order to save your time, we have done the research and we will highlight one awesome  and useful time management website each day)
Tell us in the comment section what strategies you use to manage your time and you could win a prize.

Speaking of prizes…and time management…i owe a few people some prizes…they will get to you by Wednesday 🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mark McCall on October 5, 2009 at 10:49 am

    To be honest I am terrible with time management. I have 2 essays i have to write before 3:00 today. Now if anyone woulnd’t mind giving me tips, it would be much appreciated.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 5, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I can have time management problems, however i am getting better at doing ass. early but it feels like i have no free time at all, get up go to classes come back do homework and go to sleep and then get up and start it all over again i feel like i am still in high school getting up and doing everything over again everyday so i need to learn how to find time between my school life and my free time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dan Lyche on October 5, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    i procrastinate so bad. i have no time management skills. but i am studying for my history exam on the 19th witch i am very proud of.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on October 5, 2009 at 9:09 pm

      Dan, that is great. I am guilty of procrastinating myself…i have found breaking something into small chunks works well for me and helps me avoid waiting until the last minute. I hope you check the blog out this week for some tips…and maybe you will find something that works for you.

      Reply

  4. Posted by traversswan on October 5, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I’m going to cut back on wasting time on the internet. Other than that I have a pretty good routine going, balancing school, work, and everything in-between.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on October 6, 2009 at 6:53 am

      it is good that you recognize what your time waster is (we will discuss those later this week). It is all about balance, you can waste time on the internet but only if you have done what needs to be done. I usually will take a 20 page paper and tell myself after I write 5 pages I can play on the internet for 30 minutes then I write another 5 pages. it breaks it up and having those breaks helps me keep my sanity when I am working on school stuff

      Reply

  5. Posted by Katie Scarmardo on October 6, 2009 at 1:04 am

    When it comes to time management, I am a HUGE fan of owning a planner. I am a visual person and it helps to see what my week looks like and what I might need to do to prepare for that week. I always advise (myself included) to prepare for tests to have the review sheet done prior to your last class before your test. It allows a little bit of active studying while you make the review and then after it is completed you can go over it, normally 2 days prior to the exam.

    I think everyone struggles to some degree with time management. It is something that there are so many activities to be involved with as well as friends to hang out with and school that is a little more expressive in its way of demanding its need for time.

    The strongest suggestion I have is to prioritize. Figure out what activites are able to be repeated, where as some assignments, tests, and papers have a cut throat deadline that are not very forgiving. And if you have to hang out with the person, I absolutely LOVE coffee shop studying! You get to hang out as well as all get your stuff done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

