Time to Make a Plan

Today we will discuss how using a planner can improve your time management.  From experience I can tell you that my time management has been poor and it was usually because I was not organized.  I am going to share with you several tips that I have used to become better organized and take control of my time.

daily_planner_385x261

The Planner

1.  Find the right planner.  I have bought and not used many planners.  It is important to find a planner that you like and will want to use.

2.  Plan to use your planner daily.  It takes about 4 weeks to develop a habit so plan on using your planner and carrying it with you daily.

3.  Get in the habit of writing due dates in your planner while in class.

4.  Use the backward planning method.  If you have a paper due on November 2, go back one week and write yourself a reminder that a due date is coming up.

5.  Find a system that works for you.  Maybe putting a bright neon yellow post-it in your planner 2 days before a test will remind you to study or maybe writing several reminders to write that paper will help you…but find a system that works for you.

6.  Put it all in writing.  The next UNT football game, an open mic night at a local cafe??  Whatever you plan to do outside of class should be in your planner.  This will help you see how your time is being spent and to see how much time you have available.

7.  Schedule a reward.  Midterms are fast approaching, while you are scheduling time to write that paper or study for an exam, schedule some time after you complete your school tasks to go see a movie with friends or relax with a pedicure.

These tips should help you better manage your time through using a planner.  If you are more tech savvy than I am and prefer to use your IPhone or blackberry, these tips can still help you.

As promised yesterday, we have done the research to save you time so click here to find out more about using a planner.

Tell us in the comment section if you use a planner and if you prefer a paper or tech version of a planner.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 6, 2009 at 7:56 am

    i do us a planner and even thou i am tech savvy i still like the paper version because then i know i wrote it down some where and not searching for it on my computer when i am in need of the information

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeff Buckner on October 6, 2009 at 9:26 am

    When I was at community college, I started using a planner. It made a huge, huge difference in getting assignments done. If I had a paper due, then I jotted it down. Once I transferred to UNT and as technology advanced, I moved on to a online calendar and my iPhone. Instead of writing all my stuff down in a planner, I just input it into my iPhone and set reminders. Since I use mac computers, everything that I input on my iPhone, syncs to my Mac and gives me alerts a couple of days before something is due. I love this, and has saved me more than once. With the online calendar, I can check it via any computer and see my schedule/assignments. To find a free online calendar, Google has a great one that is very easy to set up and use. Anyone else use a online calendar?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark McCall on October 6, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    I prefer the paper planner. This way, i know i have my information. Think about it. Let’s say in your HISTORY 2610, you took down all the notes on your ipod so you would be more than ready for the quiz the next day. You’re in the process of saving the information and your ipod dies. With a paper planner, you never have to worry about the paper dying. Sure, it takes a little more effort, but a little more work never hurt anyone.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 9, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      That’s a good point Mark. Technology does fail us every now and then! I have my iPhone synced to my Outlook account at work so everything is backed up on the computer but I would definitely have a panic attack if my computer crashed and screwed up my Outlook account for some reason! Haha.

      When I was using a paper planner, I would color code all my classes at the beginning of the semester. A bit anal, yes I know, but it really helped me to stay organized. I could just glance at my planner and know that red was history and i had a quiz coming up! I coordinated the color code in my planner with the color of the folder or binder I used to store my class work so I could keep everything organized! … A bit crazy, yes, but it helped me stay on top of things!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Travers Swan on October 6, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    I use a paper planner. It’s just faster for me to jot a couple things down. I was never that fast of a typer. Plus the bag you guys gave me had a great agenda in it! I like to read the facts in it.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 9, 2009 at 12:35 pm

      I’m glad you’re using the planner! They are pretty cool, huh? And even better, FREE for Green Eagles! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on October 6, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I like tech versions as long as they’re portable, I like how you can just set events for repeating so you dont have to write it out over and over and over again…

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 9, 2009 at 12:34 pm

      This is my favorite thing about my iPhone! Every semester I go ahead and put in all my classes and repeat the dates for the semester and set reminders of what assignments are due, test days, etc…. I’ve found it’s great way to stay organized and it’s easier for me because I don’t have an extra thing to carry around! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

