Throwing Time Away

Today is day 3 of our time management series.  In order to manage your time you have to figure out how you spend your time and if any of those tasks are a waste.  Today we will discuss time wasters.

clockwaste time

If you spent one day monitoring how you spend your time I am sure you will find at least one time waster.   A time waster is something that occurs in the day that is not necessary to your day, and if it did not occur, you could have quite possibly gotten something else done in its place.  A time waster prevents you from accomplishing other things.

There are two types of time wasters:  self-imposed and system-imposed.  Self-imposed time wasters are things that you do to yourself.  Talking on the phone, watching TV, not reading the directions and playing on the computer are examples of self-imposed time wasters.

System-imposed time wasters are more out of your control.  Standing in line, emergencies, illness and meetings are examples of system imposed time wasters.

While you can’t really control the line at the DMV you can control whether you watch Tool Academy 2 or write your paper.  In order to better manage your time you have to figure out how you spend your time.  As a college student I often moaned that there was not enough time.  In reality, there was plenty of time, but my day was full of time wasters and most of them were self-imposed.  I would spend an hour on the internet, watch TV, stop by a friend’s room and then spend the night frantic as I wrote a paper.

I know, you can totally multi-task.  You can write that 5 page history paper while watching the Cowboys play…or can you?  While it can be done, you will not be able to give your best effort if every 5 minutes you are screaming at the TV asking why Tony Romo threw that interception.

You don’t have to give up checking Facebook or watching the big game, because with better time management you can study for that test and still have time to hang out with friends.

check out this website for more tips on how to identify and eliminate time wasters from your day.

I want to know what your biggest time waster is, tell me in the comment section 🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 7, 2009 at 7:46 am

    my biggest time waster is either being in friends room to much or being on the computer not doing homework or studying

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dan Lyche on October 7, 2009 at 9:32 am

    probably my biggest time waster is facebook. that and naps, naps waste a lot of time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on October 7, 2009 at 9:52 am

    my biggest time waster is tetris…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jack (Jay) Sutey on October 7, 2009 at 11:17 am

    The internet is by far my biggest time waster.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mark McCall on October 7, 2009 at 11:44 am

    My biggest time waster would be smoking. The reason i say that is because here at kerr, when you go outside to smoke, there’s always people there willing to be social, and every person has a certian desire to be social. So that wuold be my biggest time waster.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Travers Swan on October 7, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    My biggest time waster is sleeping and the internet.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I’m seeing a trend here! … I would have to agree and say Facebook! I take online classes and I have a bad habit of checking up on my Facebook account just about every time I get on the internet for something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

