I Will Do It Tomorrow

Today is the last day of our discussion on time management and I think I put it off long enough…today we will finally discuss PROCRASTINATION.

procrastination

Do you think you work better under pressure?  Have you ever said that you can do it tomorrow?  You might be a procrastinator.  I know I am.  I can’t tell you how many nights I stayed up all night to write a paper that was due the next day and I fooled myself into thinking that I wrote better under pressure.  I always put off today what I said I could do tomorrow, and you know what, tomorrow came and it did not get done.  I still struggle with procrastination, but I have learned some tricks that have helped me and I hope they might help you too.

1.  Think about the task.  See if you can break it into smaller tasks.  For instance, if you have a 10 page paper due and you must site 15 sources you can break it down by finding 5 sources a day and then write 5 pages a day and by the 5th day you will be done.

2.  Just get started.  Tell yourself that you will sit down and work on something for 30 minutes.  Usually by the time your 30 minutes is up you find yourself on a roll and will keep going.

3.  Distraction free.  A good college football game or tv show has always been a reason for me to put something off.  Once you commit to sit down and work on something for 30 minutes it is important to do it in a place where you will not get distracted.  Make those 30 minutes count.

4.  Use the buddy system.  Find a friend and study together.  Seeing that person across the table highlighting something in their book might just be the boost you need to put the highlighter to your text too.  Although I must say studying with friends never worked for me, but I did find that studying with an acquaintance worked better for me.

5.  Reward yourself.  Once you break down a task and complete part of it (let’s say you just found 5 of your 15 sources) you should reward yourself.  Maybe you give yourself 30 minutes of free time, go visit a friend, whatever it is you will have something to look forward to.

These are just a few tips that could help you.  Don’t procrastinate on dealing with your procrastination.

Click here for a site with great advice on procrastination.

Do you procrastinate?  Tell us in the comment section what task or tasks you tend to put off.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 9, 2009 at 7:57 am

    i am known to procrastinate, but now i am getting better at not since i have so much homework and study to do now, but i usually put off papers or studying for a test the last minute.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeff Buckner on October 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    I used to be a huge procrastinator. I’d always wait until the last minute to do a paper or study for a test. That all stopped when I got a couple of bad grades. I now set alerts on my calendar on my computer and on my phone a week before something is due. My grades and the quality of my papers has improved as a result.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark McCall on October 9, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I ually procrastinate anything that will take me away from doing anything i enjoy. Plus I also procrastinate the basic stuff. (ex. studying & reading)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jack (Jay) Sutey on October 9, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I used to be a chronic procrastinator in high school. Now that I’m in college, the consequences for not getting things done seems a lot more threatening. I still tend to procrastinate a little bit in the subjects I’m less interested in. I might stay up until 12am writing an English paper, but I’ll practice my instrument and/or do Music Theory homework once I get a chunk of free time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

