When Stressed…Squeeze

Midterms are a source of great stress for most of us.  How you deal with the stress is key.  The less stressed you are the better you will be able to study and do well on those midterms.  I am going to share with you several stress relievers.

stress-ball

1.  Yoga

2.  Music

3.  Taking a walk

4.  Write in a journal

5.  Exercise

6.  Make sure you get enough rest

7.  Talk to someone about what is stressing you

8.  Watch a funny movie or tv show

9.  Meditate

10. Make a stress ball

Here is how to make a stress ball:

  1. Look for a small, thick, round balloon.
  2. Blow it up until it is about 4-5 inches around. (Don’t tie the balloon yet!)
  3. Pinch the top of the balloon shut an inch or 2 from the hole.
  4. Place a small funnel inside the opening of the balloon.
  5. Using the funnel, pour cornstarch into the balloon.
  6. Slowly release the top of the balloon so the cornstarch can slide down.
  7. Continue adding cornstarch until your balloon is about three inches in diameter.
  8. Tighten the end of the balloon and slowly let out any remaining air.
  9. Tie the balloon closed as near to the cornstarch as you can.
  10. Squeeze!

What tips do you have for dealing with stress?  Tell us in the comment section.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mark McCall on October 13, 2009 at 11:10 am

    The way i deal with stress is I play piano. I know this seems unusual, but when i really start to get into the music, it kinda makes me forget any troubles i have and it tends to leave me with a feeling that i have gotten away. It’s kinda like my home away from home.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 13, 2009 at 4:18 pm

      I completely agree with you Mark! Music is my therapy too! I don’t play any instruments but I love listening to all kinds of music. Live music is definitely the best form of stress relief for me! I usually go to at least one show a week! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 13, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    the way i deal with stress i usually get into my car and drive around with the music up load for a while, go to the REC center and work out or go for a walk around campus and meet some smiling faces 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on October 13, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I deal with stress by yoga… I love just stretching and relaxing. I can focus my energy on my body instead of dwelling on my problems for a little bit.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Travers Swan on October 14, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Bottle it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

