More Bang for Your Buck

Happy Monday everyone.  I hope you enjoyed homecoming.  This time of year is fun but it makes me realize how much money I spend.  From Homecoming events to a great Halloween costume to the holidays, this can be an expensive time of year.  This week we are going to talk about money and today I am going to help you get more bang for your buck.

movies

Do you love to go to the movies?  I do, but going to the movies can get expensive.  My family went to see GI Joe and it cost us almost $50.  That is a lot of money to spend especially when it is over in 2 hours, at least that $50 sweater will last you a season or two.

Did you know you can see new movies for cheap?!  Yes, Denton has 3 movie theatres that offer some great deals.

Denton Movie Tavern has student tickets for $3 on every Monday and Thursday…all day, just show your UNT ID.

The Cinemark in Denton offers student tickets on Thursdays for $3.50.

The Silver Cinemas in the Golden Triangle Mall shows just out of theatre movies (right now you can see District 9 and The Proposal for example) for $2.  On Tuesdays you can get your tickets for $1.50.

How does this all add up?  Well, let’s say you want to see a movie twice a month.  If you go Friday night to the Movie tavern you will spend $7 on your ticket.  That is $14 a month and $168 a year.  If you opt to go to the Movie tavern on Thursdays when you can get a student ticket for $3.  That comes to $6 a month, $72 a year and $96 in savings.  You just saved enough money to pay for your next biology book.

Another way to save money is to skip the concessions…or if you are like me and cannot pass up the smell of fresh popped popcorn…split a bag with a friend.

Come back tomorrow for some more tips on making the most of your money.

Speaking of movies….are you looking forward to seeing any current or soon to be released movie???

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel Slovacek on October 19, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I am really excited to see The Lovely Bones and Where the Wild Things Are. Has anyone seen that yet? Is it awesome?? The Lovely Bones was such a crazy book and from the previews they’re going to make the girl’s afterlife kind of trippy. I’m interested in seeing how they put it all together.

    My boyfriend and I go almost every Thursday night to a movie at Cinemark after we watch The Office, it’s our date night 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Katie Scarmardo on October 20, 2009 at 10:03 am

      I want to see Where the Wild Things Are also!! I have been counting down probably since August! I had a wedding this past weekend though so I was not able to see it yet :-/

      I have heard from friends though that it is just as good as the previews said it would be!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Mark McCall on October 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    There are actually quite a few movies i would like to see. There is Law Abiding Citizen, Legion, 2012, and i know there is more that i can’t think of right now. It seems that almost every movie is catching my interest.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on October 20, 2009 at 1:30 pm

      Law Abiding Citizen looks so good! …. and Gerard Butler and Jamie Foxx make it look even better! LOL I can’t wait to see it!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 19, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    I want to see The Stepfather and 2012

    Reply

  4. Posted by Travers Swan on October 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I want to see Daybreakers.
    I didn’t know Lovely Bones is being made into a movie, so I’ll see that. And I’ll watch anything with Dwayne Johnson.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

