An Apple a Day

One of my favorite Halloween treats is the candy apple.  I remember as a kid that at least one house in my neighborhood would pass out caramel apples for trick or treat.

caramel-apple-large

Since this is the best time of year to enjoy a delicious treat on a stick I thought I would share my favorite recipe:

Peanut Butter Crunch Caramel Apples

Ingredients

  • 6 Granny Smith apples
  • 6 wooden sticks
  • 1 (14 ounce) package individually wrapped caramels, unwrapped
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups chopped Nutter Butters
  • 4 ounces milk chocolate, chopped
  • 4 ounces white chocolate, chopped

Directions

  1. Insert wooden sticks 3/4 of the way into the stem end of each apple. Place apples on a cookie sheet covered with lightly greased aluminum foil.
  2. Combine caramels and water in a saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring often, until caramel melts and is smooth. Stir in the vanilla. Dip each apple into the caramel and gently run apples around insides of saucepan to scrape off some of the caramel. Scrape excess caramel from the apple bottoms using the side of the saucepan.
  3. Spread the chopped cookies out on a dinner plate. Roll caramel apples in the cookies and place on the aluminum foil. Place the milk chocolate and white chocolate into separate microwave-safe bowls. Heat in the microwave at 30 second intervals, stirring between each, until melted and smooth. Drizzle milk chocolate over the apples, then drizzle the white chocolate over the milk chocolate. Refrigerate until ready to serve.
What is your favorite fall/halloween treat?
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Williams on October 28, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Carmel Apples are a must, candy corn and Pumpkin Latte

    Reply

    • Posted by Lindsey Taflinger on November 3, 2009 at 12:45 am

      I haven’t tried the pumpkin spice latte at Starbuck’s… is it any good?!? I imagine it would taste like pumpkin pie, but I don’t know how I feel about hot liquid pumpkin pie! LOL

      Reply

  2. Posted by Travers Swan on October 28, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I hate caramel in my teeth, but I gobble those things up as well. During the fall I eat a lot of bread pudding.

    Reply

    • Posted by greeneagles on October 28, 2009 at 10:05 pm

      I love bread pudding…I just got a recipe for it that i cant wait to try

      Ditto on the caramel…i hate it being stuck in my teeth…but i cant turn it down

      Reply

Leave a Reply

